Mixing and Mastering: Guitar and Vocals

blue cat for guitarThe top end of the guitar sounded very twangy therefore I equalized out the highs. The blue cat shows the highs of the acoustic guitar. I therefore EQed the guitar by cutting a lot of the highs. I sloped off the mids and the high mid frequencies at around 300Hz and having frequencies at around 15,000Hz being completly cut off. T

guitar eq
Guitar EQ

his reduced the twangy sound of the guitar and made it sound a lot warmer. I also cut off the low frequencies which were unwanted in the mix. I boosted the low mids because this can attempt to add body to the guitar and give it a slightly warmed sound. I cut off the frequencies at around under 100Hz. I boosted the frequencies over 100Hz to around 500Hz.

guitar eq 2
Guitar EQ

 

I cut off the high frequencies and the low frequencie. I cut off frequencies over about 6,000Hz and frequencies under 100Hz which are unwanted frequencies that does not add anything towards the final mix.

 

 

vocal eq
Vocal EQ

 

 

 

Leave a comment